Cloud Computing

Cisco’s Journey to DoD 8140 Accreditation 

The CIO for the U.S. Division of Protection (DoD) has just lately issued DoD Guide 8140.03 Our on-line world Workforce Qualification & Administration Program.* This can be a role-based strategy to establish, develop, and qualify people who’ve federal work roles that align with the DoD Cyber Workforce Framework (DCWF).  The brand new 8140 mandate will affect a bigger variety of federal staff and contractors. Moreover, distributors supporting applications might also must qualify.      

Because the world of cybersecurity consistently adjustments, so do the data, expertise, and talents (KSAs) which are related to the expertise. Subsequently, the coaching wants to vary to deal with these new threats to make sure they align with the brand new necessities. The Division of Protection (DoD) is within the technique of transitioning from DoD 8570.01-m work roles and related certifications to DoD 8140. Whereas beforehand, there have been 14 work roles, there’ll now be 52 work roles. Cisco is at the moment evaluating our present certifications and the way they align with the brand new DoD 8140 work roles.   

Cisco’s DoD 8570 Certifications 

At the moment, DoD 8570 IAT certifications are nonetheless in impact. Which means CCNA covers Data Assurance Tech (IAT) I & II (See DoD CIO waiver hyperlink), and CCNP Safety covers IAT III. Moreover, CyberOps Affiliate is on the DoD 8570 CSSP analyst and incident responder classes.

Please see the Cisco devoted 8570 net web page for data. 

Transition to 8140   

Cisco is getting ready for the transition to 8140 by actively working with the DoD to align our certifications to the DCWF. Cisco understands that this evolution of the framework is a significant improve from the present DoD 8570.01-m Data Assurance Technician ranges I, II, and III.  As talked about above, the brand new framework may have over 52 work roles, with extra to return.        

The 2 Our on-line world Workforce Parts in DoD 8140 that Cisco will probably be targeted on are: Our on-line world IT Workforce and Cybersecurity Workforce.** These two parts embody over 14 work roles which are on the coronary heart of Cisco expertise.

Particularly, CCNA, CCNP Enterprise, and CCNP Safety certifications cowl the job roles that construct, configure, and function. To spherical out the ability necessities in these job roles, the CyberOps Affiliate and CyberOps Skilled certifications practice people who safe, defend, and monitor networks.  

Keep tuned as Cisco and the DoD collaborate to carry one of the best in coaching and certifications to the market.   





Join Cisco U. | Be part of the Cisco Studying Community.

Observe Cisco Studying & Certifications

Twitter | Fb | LinkedIn | Instagram | YouTube

Use #CiscoU and #CiscoCert to hitch the dialog.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button